Fr, 27/05/2022, 20:00 Uhr
Improvisation / Komponierte Musik / Konzert

Heya Collective

We are Here but Not All

Heya is a research project and experimental ‘musicking’ collective which aims to bridge women who make sound and experimental music in the UK, Egypt, Lebanon and Turkey with each other and a global audience. Live networked performances and collaborative sonic works between Nour Sokhon (LE), Jilliene Sellner (CA/UK), Yara Mekawei (EG) and Zeynep Ayşe Hatipoğlu (TR), mixing and reacting to each other’s field recordings and sonic experiments, becomes a horizontal and egalitarian method of decolonizing musicological research, circumventing top down, traditional methods and conclusions.
This event is the first in-person performance together of three of the members of Heya (Sokhon, Sellner and Mekawei). In the absence of our fourth member (Hatipoğlu) we will work from Hatipoğlu’s score written specifically for this Berlin performance. Using voice, field recordings, software and hardware, the semi-improvised live sound work will be the culmination of several years of remote networked collaborations and shared experiences which, despite not all of us having met yet, have cultivated a space for care and hope in action.

Heya Collective

Nour Sokhon, Field Recordings, interdisciplinary artist
Yara Mekawei, Electronics, composer
Jilliene Sellner, Electronics, sonic artist

  • Dauer: 1:30h, Pausen: with Pause
  • acud macht neu
  • Veteranenstraße 21, Berlin
  • Bemerkungen zum Ort: Berlin School of Sound
  • Barrierefreiheit: motorische Einschränkungen